This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Kazakhstan. Information on all primary administrative regions in Kazakhstan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Kazakhstan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Kazakhstan

There are 17 regions in Kazakhstan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Kazakhstan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Almaty Oblysy Almaty Oblysy1.1,949,837Taldykorgan Taldykorgan116,558
Almaty Qalasy Almaty Qalasy2.1,472,866Almaty Almaty2,000,900
Aqmola Aqmola Oblysy3.733,113Kokshetau Kokshetau124,444
Aqtoebe Aktyubinskaya Oblast’4.797,036Aqtobe Aqtöbe262,457
Astana Qalasy Astana Qalasy5.835,153Astana Astana345,604
Atyrau Atyraū Oblysy6.556,388Atyrau Atyrau180,000
Batys Qazaqstan Zapadno-Kazakhstanskaya Oblast’7.618,261Oral Oral200,000
Bayqongyr Qalasy Bayqongyr Qalasy8.36,175Baykonyr Baykonyr70,000
East Kazakhstan Vostochno-Kazakhstanskaya Oblast’9.1,464,269Ust-Kamenogorsk Ust-Kamenogorsk319,067
Mangghystau Mangistauskaya Oblast’10.596,706Aktau Aktau147,443
Ongtustik Qazaqstan Yuzhno-Kazakhstanskaya Oblast’11.2,685,009Shymkent Shymkent414,032
Pavlodar Pavlodar Oblysy12.749,516Pavlodar Pavlodar329,002
Qaraghandy Qaraghandy Oblysy13.1,363,638Karagandy Karagandy451,800
Qostanay Qostanay Oblysy14.880,227Kostanay Kostanay210,000
Qyzylorda Qyzylorda Oblysy15.727,990Kyzylorda Kyzylorda300,000
Soltustik Qazaqstan Severo-Kazakhstanskaya Oblast’16.579,403Petropavl Petropavl200,920
Zhambyl Zhambyl Oblysy17.1,071,645Taraz Taraz358,153